top of page

Rest Peacefully Harry

HARRY LAZARE

June 8, 1946-October 13, 2015

Harry left his body Tuesday night October 13th, 2015. A wake is being held today and tomorrow Thursday, October 15th and Friday, October 16th at his home studio. Visiting Hours will be from 12-2:30pm and 6-8pm on both days. Location: 278 Schoolhouse Rd, Ghent, NY 12075

Funeral service will be held at Mettabee Farm on Saturday October 17th at 10:30am. His family asks all to please arrive 15 minutes early, as the funeral will begin promptly at 10:30. Location: 551 Harlemville Rd, Hillsdale, NY 12529

“Run for your life” (Object of Veneration made by Harry this the last year. Photo by Tanya Lee)

I love this photo capturing Harry holding this piece in July, 2015.

I find it significant that he felt he needed to take the piece physically of the wall to share his thoughts about it at a time when his hands were the shakiest and an oxygen tank sat in the room if needed. This was the last time I visited Harry and we spent an hour walking around his studio documenting some of his work.

I am so grateful for my chance to know Harry– to have received his friendship and guidance. Today looking at this photo I can’t help but associate meaning to it. “Run” implies for me a chase and for the objective to pursue “life.” Although Halloween approaches and images of a scared figure running from danger could appear in a cartoonish way and the fitting timing of a historic moon’s eclipse this month looms in my mind, I am taken to reflect on the risks he took these last five years to literally “Run for his life.” No he was not running marathons, but he actively carried himself to live a healthy life, at least in his social, creative and spiritual body. He too continues to help us do this by asking us to look again and observe the people, objects and environments around us though his art and our memories with him. He was not a saint and we have those stories too where he told an off color joke and all you wanted to say was “Harry, please stop.” He was and continues to be for me an courageous exemplar of one who “Ran for his Life” and did not run from his life.

He did not leave without planting in me his persistence to see beauty in living and dying. And too through suffering became a master at talking and making art about life as it mattered to him. Goodbye Harry. My condolences and sympathy to his life partner Kathleen, dog Silas, daughter Abbie, her husband Kamal and their two boys Alexander and Raphael. To them I continue to dedicate this little treasure trove of Harry’s stories and works.

All my Love,

Emma


No tags yet.
bottom of page